Coach Harbaugh and Jabrill Peppers

The Paul Hornung Award




The Louisville Sports Commission and the Paul Hornung Award would like to thank KentuckyOne Health for its continued support in helping to make the Paul Hornung Award Banquet a reality.

The winner of the 2017 Paul Hornung Award and his family will be honored on March 7, 2018, at the annual Paul Hornung Award Banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville. For ticket information or sponsorship opportunities, please contact Julie Howell at or call (502) 587-6742..

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to recognize and reward high-level achievers in college football whose performances and contributions as versatile players often go unnoticed.

Jabrill Peppers of Michigan, who won the award in 2016, was also the first person to earn Big Ten defensive player of the year, linebacker of the year and return specialist of the year; Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award in 2015 after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864; Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award in 2014 as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback; Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award in 2013 after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game; Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award in 2012 as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns); Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award in 2011 after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and Owen Marecic of Stanford, a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker, won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award in 2010.

2017 Banquet photos

Click here to view all photos from the 2017 Paul Hornung Award Banquet.


Click here to view photos from 2016.

Click here to view photos from 2015.

Click here to view photos from 2014.

Click here to view photos from 2013.

Click here to view photos from 2012.

Click here to view photos from 2011.