Coach Harbaugh and Jabrill Peppers

The Paul Hornung Award

Paul Hornung Award Press Releases

WEEK 6: Two Players Each from the Big 12, ACC Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Foursome Combined on Offense, Defense, Special Teams to Touch Ball Nine Ways

Louisville, Ky. – October 9, 2017 – Three newcomers – Kenny Hill (TCU), Joel Lanning (Iowa State), and Jordan Whitehead (Pitt), and repeat performer Nyheim Hines from NC State – earned Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for week six of the college football season. Whithead led the Panthers in rushing and solo tackles; Hines touched the ball five different ways for the Wolfpack on offense and special teams; Hill accounted for Horned Frogs’ touchdowns passing, rushing, and receiving; and Lanning played 78 total snaps for the Cyclones at linebacker, quarterback, and special teams

read more

WEEK 5: Three Players from the AAC and Big Ten Earn Paul Horning Award Honor Roll

Trio Touched the Ball Eight Different Ways, Led Teams to Big Conference Victories

Louisville, Ky. – October 2, 2017 – Two offensive workhorses and one defensive stalwart representing the AAC and Big Ten, all who double as return specialists, make up this week’s Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll. Saquon Barkley (Penn State) who makes the list for the second week in a row, is joined by newcomers Mike Hughes (Central Florida), and D.J. Moore (Maryland).

read more

WEEK 4: Two Offensive Players from the SEC, Big Ten Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Saquon Barkely from Penn State, Christian Kirk from Texas A&M Lead Teams to Dramatic Wins

Louisville, Ky. – September 25, 2017 –  Saquon Barkley (Penn State) and Christian Kirk (Texas A&M) were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for Week Four after standout performances on Saturday when they combined for more than 600 all-purpose yards and four touchdowns and led their teams to dramatic, come-from-behind wins in conference matchups.

read more

WEEK 3: Players from Power 5 Conferences Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week Three

ACC, Pac-12 Foursome Lead Teams to Wins with Combined 948 Yards, Seven Touchdowns

Louisville, Ky. – September 18, 2017 – Three offensive players and return specialists from the ACC and one from the Pac-12 earned Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll status in Week Three of the season – Sean Riley (Syracuse), Shaun Wilson (Duke), Olamide Zacchaeus (UVA), and Dante Pettis (Washington). The foursome combined for 948 all-purpose yards and seven touchdowns in leading their respective teams to intersectional wins.

read more

WEEK 2: Five Players from Five Conferences Named to Week Two Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

WR/RB/DB Returns Specialists Account for 1,200 All-purpose Yards; Scored 11 Times

Louisville, Ky. – September 11, 2017 – Five versatile players representing the SEC, Big Ten, MAC and Mountain West, and who accounted for 11 total touchdowns four different ways and more than 1,200 all-purpose yards, were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for Week Two of the college football season. South Carolina’s Deebo Samuel made the list for the second week in a row, and is joined by newcomers Saquon Barkley (Penn State), Rashaad Penny (San Diego State), Darius Phillips (Western Michigan), and Akrum Wadley (Iowa).

read more